Analysis Paralysis

Better to do something imperfectly than to do nothing flawlessly. – Robert H. Schuller

Sometimes I get caught up planning things down to the most minute details, accounting for every possible situation, and creating contingency plans galore. As a kid I was in Girl Guides and I really took the motto ‘always be prepared’ to heart. This is all good, except that sometimes I get caught in what I now call Analysis Paralysis. That is when I spend all my time going over ideas, plans, and ‘what if’ scenarios and never taking action or accomplishing anything tangible.

When that happens, I take a few minutes to re-read this article.

Or for a quick summary, I remember my mother’s phrase ‘Shit or get off the pot.’

Leave a Reply

