Too Much of a Good Thing

Too Much of a Good Thing

At the beginning of the year I threw myself into The Dirty Thirty with unchecked enthusiasm. I had made the decision to be happy and it is my responsibility to myself to make it happen. This choice was liberating and exciting and I filled my days with classes, social activities, and new responsibilities including a new puppy and a completely overhauled eating plan. I jumped into this new happy life with such vigor that I didn’t consider the time and energy required to make it happen. I was raised to believe I can do anything and everything I want as long as I work hard and stay focused.

In February I began to feel discouraged. I was doing so many things that should make me happy, but I was feeling overwhelmed and exhausted. I’d let my mind and my schedule run wild without clear focus or discipline, like a puppy with the gate left open.

“…I’d throw myself into action during every ounce of time I had spare, to the point of exhaustion, as if to try and salvage those wasted forty-plus hours a week I’d spent at work.”

                                                                                                                                         ~Michaela Cristallo

In March, I was the puppy after returning to the yard. I crashed. Rest is highly underrated. I spent the month reconsidering my priorities. I’ve taken steps toward most items on my list and I will continue to work on it at a more realistic pace. From now on my priorities are health, family and pets, career, and personal development. I will consciously consider how I choose to spend my time, and make choices that will have a positive outcome on those areas of my life.

I’ve remembered that I can do anything and everything, one thing at a time.

Leave a Reply

