The Difference between Goals and Systems

The Difference between Goals and Systems

…or as I like to call it, “how to get sh!t done without feeling completely overwhelmed”.

The article from entrepreneur.com clarifies the difference between pie-in-the-sky goals (really dreams) and systems (or strategies) on how to reach them without getting lost in the big, and sometimes vague, picture.

For instance, the last item on my list The Dirty Thirty is to blog about my adventures. The system I am using is to write three times per week. One post will be an update on one of my list items, one will be an article (like this one) and one will be a quote or photo that I find inspirational.

Rather than a big ambiguous goal of blogging, I have a system of spending a few minutes three times per week sharing different categories of posts. This defines what actions I need to take to accomplish what I set out to do. I’ll take the time to consider how to do this with all 30 items on The Dirty Thirty.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Difference between Goals and Systems

Leave a Reply

